The American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog, located at 1721 S. Mason Rd., in beautiful Queeny Park, West St. Louis County, Missouri, is home to the world's finest collection of art devoted to the dog. The 14,000 sq. ft. facility, which includes historic Jarville House (1853), displays over 700 original paintings, drawings, watercolors, prints, sculptures, bronzes, and porcelain figurines, and a variety of decorative arts objects depicting man's best friend throughout the ages. On permanent display is Sir Edwin Landseer's oil on canvas of a Deerhound and Recumbent Foxhound and many Maud Earl portraits of various terrier breeds.
The museum is open year-round and available to visitors Tuesday - Saturday from 10 AM - 4 PM, and Sundays 1 PM - 5 PM (closed Mondays and holidays). Queeny Park, home of the Museum, is accessible from highway/interstate 40/64 at the Mason Rd. exit or from I-270 by taking the Manchester exit to Mason Rd.
The Museum Gift Shop offers a wide array of gift items for you and your companion pet including tapestry pillows, ceramics and jeweled dog dishes, books on dogs, umbrellas, stationery, T-shirts, and jewelry, as well as one-of-a-kind objects exclusive to The Dog Museum.
A book and video library is available by appointment for research on purebred dogs and animal artists.
The Museum also offers indoor and outdoor for business meetings, dog club activities, and special events.
The AKC Museum of the Dog is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization funded mainly by private and corporate gift donations.
The Gift Shop
The Museum Gift Shop offers a variety of items in your favorite breed including stationery, magnets, postcards, fun T-shirts, jewelry, and novelty items such as games and puzzles. The Gift Shop is open during regular hours. Be sure to ask about special discounts available during the holiday season.
Hope A. Levy Memorial Library
More than three thousand books and dog-related publications are available in the Museum’s Hope A. Levy Memorial Library. Invaluable to individuals researching canine history is a variety of historically important publications including the comprehensive The Illustrated Book of the Dog, dated 1890, by Vero Shaw, and Dogs and All About Them, dated 1910, by Robert Leighton. The book collections also contain numerous items of interest for young visitors. The Hope A. Levy Memorial Library is open Tuesday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., by appointment.
The Artist's Registry
The Museum maintains a biographical listing of more than two hundred fifty artists available by commission for dog portraits and dog-related art. Individuals interested in locating an artist for a pet portrait can browse through the Artists’ Registry for information on who to contact for a painting, pastel, or a bronze. There is no charge to visitors to use this unique resource. Artists interested in joining the Artists’ Registry can contact the Museum by filling out our email form.
Don’t miss out on Guest Dog of the Week on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, March through October. Guest Dog of the Week was started in 1987 with more than one thousand dogs presented to the public in two decades. By invitation, responsible dog owners are invited to bring canine companions to meet Museum visitors. Individuals are encouraged to ask questions about breed temperament, dog ownership, rescue programs, and more! Call the Museum at 314-821-3647 during regular hours for a current schedule of Guest Dogs.
Few museums are devoted to simple ideas that live forever, like love and devotion.
In the early 1970s, interested individuals devoted to dogs met to discuss the possibility of a national museum of art and books focusing on man's best friend. In 1973, the Westminster Kennel Club Foundation conducted a survey to explore the level of support for such a project. While encouraged by the results, it was decided a broader level of support was needed. In 1979, the American Kennel Club Foundation was formed to help meet this need and by 1981, The Dog Museum of America had its first director, William Secord.
Frank T. Sabella forever holds the distinction of being the first contributor of art with his gift donation of several paintings including the charming oil on canvas of a long-haired terrier Bob painted by the well-known artist George Earl as well as a charming portrait of a Newfoundland by English artist Horatio Henry Couldery. Donations by other contributors followed with the museum's collection of art quickly growing. The exhibit Best of Friends: The Dog in Art opened at the AKC offices in the New York Life building at 51 Madison Avenue in September 1982.
With a rapidly growing collection of art and increasing interest by the fancy, it became apparent a permanent and larger space was necessary. In 1985, with the support of the museum's chairman Mrs. Robert V. Lindsay, and president Dorothy Welsh, the board voted to relocate the museum to the historic 1853 Jarville House in West St. Louis County, Missouri, where the newly named The Dog Museum would operate as its own entity. In an effort to ensure its future, a re-affiliation with the American Kennel Club took place in 1995 and the museum was re-named The American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog. Gift donations of art continue to make this unique museum's collection one of the largest in the country.